Even though many states in the USA do not require proof of auto insurance before you can register your car, the state of Texas does. This is intended to help protect motorists from loss caused by uninsured drivers.
Because Texas has had problems with uninsured drivers in it’s past, all drivers are also entered on a central database that enables law enforcement officials to quickly look up whether a car has insurance or not.
This, however, is not an excuse for not carrying your insurance card. In Texas it is a law that you carry proof of insurance in your car at all times. If you are caught without proof, you will be liable to fines of up to $175, as well as risking possible suspension of your license.
Like all other states there are also minimum levels of insurance coverage that you need to obtain in order to be road legal. It is of course recommended that you purchase more than the minimum requirements, as the minimum requirements are not enough to cover you in most situations. Many will want to purchase full coverage protection to feel they are well protected in the case of an accident.
Of course the more coverage you obtain, the more expensive your car insurance becomes, so you will need to weigh the pros and cons of the many different levels of protection before you start comparing insurance quotes.
The current legislation in Texas dictates that you need at the bare minimum the following (updated March 2014):
- $30,000 in Bodily Injury Coverage per person: This will help cover the medical costs of anybody that is adversely affected by the accident that isn’t you.
- $60,000 Bodily Injury Coverage Total: This is the maximum amount of coverage that is on your insurance policy, for example you can cover the expenses of 2 people up to $30,000 or 3 up to $20,000. These limits are fairly generous compared to other states.
- $25,000 in Property Damage: This can include the car that is damaged as well as any other thing that is damaged as a result of the accident.
There is not a requirement to purchase any additional coverage within Texas, for example uninsured drivers insurance. It is worth purchasing this, however, due to the way the Texas legal system operates. In Texas there will always be a guilty party found in an accident, which means that if you are hit by an uninsured driver who is in turn guilty of the accident, your costs will not be covered. This extra protection helps cover you against this event.
Like many other states there are plenty of ways to reduce your insurance premiums. One way is to take a driving class, but the method that usually will save you the most is comparison shopping. This is where we can help. By entering your information in our free quotes search engine above, you can start comparing quotes from trusted insurance carriers immediately.